Research Blog #1

1. Should I Keep Trying to Work It Out? Chapter 3, p.41-52 http://www.divorce.usu.edu/files/uploads/lesson3.pdf

2. N/A

3. The initial source I chose for this project is the third chapter of Alan Hawkins’ 2009 book, Should I Keep Trying to Work It Out?: A guidebook for individuals and couples at the crossroads of divorce (and before). Hawkins is currently a professor at the Brigham Young University School of Family Life. He has published numerous articles about marriage, divorce, and reconciliation.

4. This take on the most common factors leading to divorce was highly informative and raised many points I had not been aware of. In his list on pages 42-43, he cites eight influencing factors, two of which were a surprise to me: less education and premarital cohabitation. In my experience, most people have said their best advice is to live together before marriage. While I can certainly see the advantages, this source mentions that living together also contributes to lenient attitudes towards marriage and divorce, as well as the hinderance of serious commitment. I also found it interesting that he acknowledges the differences between the main CAUSES of divorce and the REASONS people actually cite.

5. Hawkins does utilize in-text citations for his empirical and societal evidence, but unfortunately I cannot view the references from this free online version. In order to quote these facts and present information, it was necessary to share where he drew these conclusions from.

6. http://www.divorce.usu.edu/htm/additional-resources
The website that I found this free ebook on also has a page for additional resources. It links sites that range from legal help to counseling to websites that help strengthen your relationship.

7. After reading this source, I’m looking forward to delving deeper into the cultural and societal expectations that may have changed about marriage. Also, he briefly talks about the subject of infidelity, and I’d like to investigate the role that technology has played in changing the frequency and typology of cheating in marriages.

8. I noticed a few key terms that were used in this book that might help further my inquiry research.
“Premarital Cohabitation”
“Lack of Commitment”
“Infidelity”
“Low-Conflict Relationships”

 

 

Leave a Reply

